US Army Corps of Engineers
Rock Island District Website

District Projects

Emergency Response/Recovery Actions - Overview

Published March 10, 2020

All of Rock Island District

The Rock Island District is prepared to provide all hazard response and recovery assistance under the authority of Public Law (PL) 84-99 and PL 93-288. All hazard events include flooding, earthquakes, tornados, etc. On a national basis the District will respond to incidents of national significance such as hurricanes and weapons of mass destruction. 

The District Crisis Management Team consisting of senior staff elements is trained and ready to respond to disasters. Prior to flood season, trained Flood Area Engineer teams conduct annual inspections of the District flood protective systems in coordination with local sponsors. Flood fight supplies are stockpiled and flood fight equipment is serviced.
The District maintains trained cadre members to assist FEMA in accordance with the Stafford Act (PL93-288) and the National Response Framework.


The Rock Island District has played a key role in providing direct hazard response and recovery assistance during all major flood events throughout its area of operation. 

Typically, the Rock Island District is called upon to provide direct assistance to our state partners on an annual basis. In addition to our District responsibilities, the Rock Island District is typically called upon on an annual basis to provide assistance outside of its area of operation to support national missions.

Additional Information

Congressional Interest

Senators: Charles Grassley (IA), Joni Ernst (IA), Richard Durbin (IL), Tammy Duckworth (IL), Tina Smith (MN), Amy Klobuchar (MN), Roy Blunt (MO), Joshua Hawley (MO), Tammy Baldwin (WI), Ron Johnson (WI)

Representatives: Representatives: IA-1 (Abby Finkenauer), IA-2 (Dave Loebsack), IA-3 (Cynthia Axne), IA-4 (Steve King), Il-2 (Robin Kelly), IL-3 (Dan Lipinski) IL-11 (Bill Foster), IL-13 (Rodney Davis), IL-14 (Lauren Underwood), IL-15 (John Shimkus), IL-16 (Adam Kinzinger), IL-17 (Cheri Bustos), IL-18 (Darin LaHood), MN-1 (Jim Hagedorn), MN-7 (Collin Peterson), MO-6 (Sam Graves), WI-1 (Bryan Steil), WI-2 (Mark Pocan), WI-3 (Ron Kind), WI-5 (F. James Sensenbrenner Jr.), WI-6 (Glenn Grothman) 


SI - Special Interest
Public Law 84-99 and Public Law 93-288

Estimated Federal Cost  NA
Estimated Non-Federal Cost  NA
Estimated Total Project Cost  NA
Allocations Prior to FY 2020 NA
FY 2020 Allocation NA
FY 2020 Total Capability  NA


Major Work Item Current Year
FY 2020: The District is prepared to provide direct and technical assistance during the next emergency event. All flood teams are trained and ready to respond. District flood fight supplies and equipment are fully stocked and maintain