US Army Corps of Engineers
Rock Island District Website

District Projects

Section 205 Overview

Published March 10, 2020

United States

Section 205, small flood risk management program provides support for local flood risk management by the construction or improvement of structural or non-structural flood risk management measures. Typical structural flood risk management measures may include levees, floodwalls, pumping stations and channel modifications. Typical non-structural measures may include flood proofing, relocation of structures, elevation of structures and flood warning and preparedness systems.

Section 205 projects have two phases: Feasibility (study) Phase and Design and Implementation (construction) Phase. The first $100,000 of the Feasibility Phase is financed at 100% Federal cost. All feasibility costs above $100,000 are cost-shared 50% Federal and 50% non-Federal. If the project advances to the Design and Implementation Phase, all costs are cost-shared 65% Federal and 35% non-Federal. The non-Federal partner may utilize work in-kind and land credits to meet a portion of their cost share responsibilities but must provide at least 5% of the total project costs as cash. Once project is constructed the non-Federal partner is responsible for 100% of the operation and maintenance.

Section 205 of the Flood Control Act of 1948, as amended, provides a continuing authority for the Corps of Engineers to develop and construct small flood control projects without the need of specific congressional authorization. A project is recommended for construction only after a feasibility study clearly shows the engineering feasibility, economic justification (benefits exceed costs) and environmental acceptability of the improvement. Each project is cost shared with the federal cost share not to exceed $10 million. This federal cost includes all project-related costs for feasibility studies, planning, design and construction.


Additional Information

Congressional Interest

All in the Rock Island District

Senators: Charles Grassley (IA), Joni Ernst (IA), Richard Durbin (IL), Tammy Duckworth (IL), Amy Klobuchar (MN), Tina Smith (MN), Roy Blunt (MO), Joshua Hawley (MO), Tammy Baldwin (WI), Ron Johnson (WI)

Representatives: IA-1 (Abby Finkenauer), IA-2 (Dave Loebsack), IA-3 (Cynthia Axne), IA-4 (Steve King), IL-1 (Bobby Rush), IL-2 (Robin Kelly), IL-3 (Dan Lipinski), IL-4 (Jesus Garcia), IL-7 (Danny Davis), IL-11 (Bill Foster), IL-13  (Rodney Davis), IL-14 (Lauren Underwood),IL-15 (John Shimkus), IL-16 (Adam Kinzinger),IL-17 (Cheri Bustos), IL-18 (Darin LaHood), MN-1 (Jim Hagedorn), MN-7 (Collin Peterson), MO-6 (Sam Graves), WI-1 (Bryan Steil), WI-2 (Mark Pocan), WI-3 (Ron Kind), WI-5 (James Sensenbrenner, Jr.), WI-6 (Glenn Grothman)

CA - Continuing Authorities - Section 205

Summarized Project Costs

Estimated Federal Cost  N/A 
Estimated Non-Federal Cost  N/A 
Estimated Total Project Cost  N/A 
Allocations Prior to FY 2020 N/A 
FY 2020 Allocation  N/A 
FY 2020 Total Capability  N/A 

Major Work Item Current Year
FY 2020: Advance existing projects that have been appropriated funding. Coordinate with communities to identify potential new projects for consideration.